What I Like about Violet Mae (From Dad)

1

April 12, 2014 by Slow Sand

Hey there, sweet girl! I just wanted to take a few minutes on your birthday to let you know how much I love you and how thankful I am God brought you into our lives two years (and nine months) ago. You are truly a miracle that I am so blessed to get to be around. It’s a joy to be your Dad. A blessing I don’t deserve but I’m so grateful for. Right now I love seeing your compassionate heart come out towards us (your parents), your friends, Betsy, and even towards the dolls that you play with. Truth be told you came out of the womb a spirited, thrill-seeking baby. And that hasn’t changed too much 2 years later.

Swinging after an Easter Egg Hunt on Violet's Birthday 2014

Swinging after an Easter Egg Hunt on Violet’s Birthday 2014

 

But what has changed, or rather emerged, is a side of you that I didn’t expect: an empathetic, and nurturing side of you. You like to feed me and mom (bites of your popsicle, spoonfuls of sweet potato), you give hugs to Jack when he’s crying, you always find the most tender, tiny toy in your collection (baby pink Care Bear, the baby doll in the dollhouse set Gigi gave you) and you dode over them. You want them in your crib with you. You are so affectionate towards them. And it’s just incredible to see this side of you emerge. It’s beautiful.

Tender-hearted Violet Mae feeding a goat at Sweet Berry Farm

Tender-hearted Violet Mae feeding a goat at Sweet Berry Farm

 

And it makes me even that much more excited to see how you relate to having a baby brother or sister (I am betting on brother). You are going to care for that sibling with all the energy you can muster (which is more than most kids your age). I’m proud to be your Dad, Violet Mae. And I’m so excited to see how you continue to mature and surprise me in the third year of your life. Love you, Vivi. Love, Dad

One thought on “What I Like about Violet Mae (From Dad)

  1. Jim and Ernestine Aberle says:

    Happy Birthday to precious violet. We are so thankful for you!

Leave a Reply

