Scott’s Favorites of 2014

Leave a comment

January 1, 2015 by Slow Sand

Memories
  1. Watching a film in the theater with Violet on Sunday, 4/27/14. While Lydia was out of town, I decided at the last minute to take Violet to her first film, “Frozen”, in the cheap theater. Prior to this evening, she had struggled to maintain attention on TV shows longer than 15 minutes, so I wasn’t overly optimistic that we’d be able to watch the whole thing. However using a full arsenal of tools (goat cheese balls, popcorn, juice, PBS Kids app on my phone) she was a trooper the whole time. It wasn’t long into the film that I found myself tearing up at how incredible it felt to be with her there. One specific highlight during the screening was when the bad snow monster was on screen how she asked me to cover up her eyes. When the snow man got his comeuppance she said “Uh oh!!” so loudly that everyone in the theater laughed.scott memory 1

  2. A Date at the Renaissance Hotel in June, 2014. Laying in bed and watching the summer season of “24” with Lydia Mae. Though we had a pretty big interruption to our overnight stay with our dog running away from our dog sitter which forced us to actually sleep at our own house – our concierge was merciful and let us do a late checkout (like 4pm!) so we ordered room service and just lounged around all day.

  3. Feeling the kindness of the hand of God during our Summer Vacation in Southwest Michigan, July 2014. God was so gracious to us to provide us rest and enjoyment through some very specific ways:
    Violet wanted desperately to find and climb  “Sky Mountain”, a legitimately giant sand dune. While climbing it she refused to rest or hold my hand instead wanting to “Climb to the top!”D75B0664-93BA-43DE-B432-3A5398CE9A4A

    Millenium park was a blast. God told Marcia the name of it while we were heading to grand haven and it was a super fun day spent with my wife, daughter and mama!00770557-A0E9-465F-93D3-C35343CBB953

    God gave me quality time with my dad going to breakfast at real food cafe, GR children’s museum and the Choo Choo grill for lunch.6A811E48-0E19-4D39-A5B1-E2AEE4194F1C

    We had three beautiful sunsets in a row while in muskegon with the best saved for last.
    D56A5529-7656-4799-AB21-70FDDE64FD75

  4. The 6th Day of Ezra Scott Hekman’s post-partem life. I was mesmerized watching Violet run around the Family Room the morning we got to go home with our newborn son. Something stuck out to me about the whimsy of it on the heels of something to heart-wrenching.IMG_3985
  5. Getting last minute tickets to ACL from our friends, October 2014. Somehow it worked to be able to take both of our kids on this authentically Austin-y adventure. I hardly remember who we saw…I think “Foster the People” were playing at some point while we were making our way through the crowds…but that was beside the point. We were together in the thick of it all, having the time of our lives while we were at it.IMG_5439

Movies
(that I saw in 2014 for the first time)
  1. “In A World”. Surprisingly entertaining and sweet tongue-in-cheek film about the difficulty of living up to the expectations of parents.

  2. “Grand Budapest Hotel”. I have loved earlier Wes Anderson films the first time I watched them but I have never loved and laughed as much as I did watching Budapest.

  3. “The Sting” Watching this movie (at midnight while at my brother David’s house in Boulder, CO) reminded me just how much good film is out there.

  4. “Fury” Was pleasantly surprised by the honest look at Christianity in this end-of-WW2 action film starring Brad Pitt and Shia LaBeouf. Watched it in the theater

  5. “The Way Way Back”

Albums
  1. The War on Drugs, “Lost in the Dream”. A heavy, deep album lyrically which spends much of its time in the alt-country/shoe-gaze space.

  2. Interpol, “El Pintor”. An impressive return to form after a couple of mis-steps from this New York quintet. Did more work to this album than any other during the busy Fall of ’14.

  3. Jack White, “Lazaretto”

  4. Surfer Blood, “Pythons”

  5. Delta Spirit, “Into the Wide”.

Quotes/Bible Verses
  1. Colossians 1:24-29, “Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I am filling up what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions for the sake of his body, that is, the church, of which I became a minister according to the stewardship from God that was given to me for you, to make the word of God fully known, the mystery hidden for ages and generations but now revealed to his saints. To them God chose to make known how great among the Gentiles are the riches of the glory of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. Him we proclaim, warning everyone and teaching everyone with all wisdom, that we may present everyone mature in Christ. For this I toil, struggling with all his energy that he powerfully works within me

  2. “Evangelism: The Whole Church Speaks of Jesus” (J Mack Styles), “Evangelism is teaching the gospel (the message of God that leads us to salvation) with the aim to persuade. If a church does not understand biblical evangelism, over time that church will be subverted…unbiblical evangelism is a method of assisted suicide for a church.”

  3. “Lost in the Cosmos” (Walker Percy). “…scientists in the practice of the scientific method, a non-radical knowledge of matter in interaction, often are not content with the non-radicalness of the scientific method and hence find themselves located in a posture of covert transcendence of their data, which is by the same motion assigned to the sphere of immanence. Hence, scientists operate in the very sphere of transcendence which is not provided for in their science. Given such a posture, it is not merely an offense if a discontinuity turns up in the sphere of immanence, the data, but especially if the discontinuity seems to allow for the intervention of God. A god is already present. A scientists is a god to his data. And if there is anythig more offensive to him than the suggestion of the existence of God, it is the existence of two gods.”

  4. “Encounters with Jesus” (Tim Keller) “Jesus’ life is evidence of the opposite of karma being true. Everything He did was good, right, beautiful and blameless yet He experienced a lifetime of accusation, persecution, misery and ultimately death.”

  5. “Is God Anti-Gay?” (Sam Allberry) “Ever since I have been open about my own experiences of homosexuality, a number of Christians have said something like this, ‘the gospel must be harder for you than it is for me’, as though I have more to give up than they do. But the fact is that the gospel demands everything of all of us. If someone thinks the gospel has somehow slotted into their life quite easily, without causing any major adjustments to their lifestyle or aspirations, it is likely that they have not really started following Jesus at all.”

Goals for 2015
  1. Go on at least 2 dates a month. I commit to have at least 2 dates a month with my wife throughout the duration of what will be an insanely busy Spring (and likely Fall) 2015. I want to have more easily accessible memories of time spent just with my sweet bride than I had in 2014.

  2. Develop a sustainable weekly work rhythm. I was going to just say “pray more, read more extra-biblical books and get back in the Bible memorizing habit” but then I realized that what I want is to have a good general structure to my week that includes these things.

  3. Hire a Service Teams Director. For my sake and for the sake of the people I minister to, I need to find a Service Teams Director that loves what they do and is particularly good at discipleship and Sunday event execution.

Leave a Reply

